Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI) Reports
  • Junior Drama on the High Seas! Details
  • Successful inspection! Details
  • Best independent prep school in Bristol and the wider south west area! Details

Early Years Foundation Stage

The pastoral care for pupils and for children in the EYFS is excellent and helps fulfil the school’s aims of providing a stimulating education within a friendly environment.

ISI Report, 2011

New Developments

From September 2016, we will be expanding our Nursery provision to take 2-3 year old children. Please contact us for further information about this exciting new development, which we are calling Lambs!

Morning sessions in Upper Nursery (ages 3-4) are 08.30-13.00 and afternoon sessions 12.00-15.30. We consider 3 sessions per week to be a minimum. Details of fees for combined sessions are available on request. Lunch is included in the cost of the session.

The Nursery is an integral part of the whole school and, when Nursery is oversubscribed, priority is given to pupils intending to transfer to the main school. 

Children in Nursery and Reception follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum, based on the seven areas of learning:Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language, Literacy, Mathematical Development, Understanding of the World, Physical Development and Expressive Arts and Design. 

It is a curriculum firmly based on learning through play, which values the partnership between home and school. Our children are taught in a building designed specifically for the Early Years Foundation Stage. Outdoor education forms an integral part of the curriculum and both classes enjoy time spent exploring and investigating the outdoor environment.

Nursery children are paired with a Reading Buddy in Year 3, with whom they share books and talk about them weekly. Reception children continue to meet their Reading Buddies from Year 4 and the paired classes often share a Welly Walk through the school grounds. 


We follow the statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage which consists of seven areas of learning and development. The three prime areas are: communication and language (CLL), physical development (PD) and personal, social and emotional development (PSED). The remaining four areas are: literacy (L), mathematics (M), understanding the world (UW) and expressive arts and design (EAD).

Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Ongoing (formative) assessment is an integral part of the learning and development process.

During your child's time in EYFS we capture their experiences as well as monitor development and learning through our Electronic Learning Diaries. Each child's unique journal is shared on-line with parents who are able to see special moments and view their child's progress. Every entry helps to create a complete story of a child's time in their Early Years at Fairfield.

The level of progress children should be expected to have attained by the end of the EYFS is defined by 17 Early Learning Goals (ELGs). In the final term of the year in which the child reaches the age of 5 (and no later than 30th June in that term), current requirements are that the EYFS Profile (EYFSP) must be completed for each child. Each child's level of development is assessed against the 17 ELGs and the three characteristics of effective learning. To complete the EYFSP, the class teacher must indicate whether children are meeting, exceeding or not yet reaching (emerging) expected levels of development. The EYFSP results are shared with parents and a copy of the Profile is passed on to the Year 1 teacher.

In September 2016, a new baseline assessment was introduced by the government at the start of the Reception year. This baseline assessment was subsequently discontinued and the EYFSP has been extended for a further year.